Answering all the questions on the standard application does not guarantee the issuance of a Concealed Carry Weapon (CCW) license. The determination whether to issue the license is at the discretion of the licensing authority. Pursuant to California Penal Code section 26160, each licensing authority will have a written policy summarizing their requirements for issuance of a Concealed Carry Weapon license. In addition, prior to issuing a Concealed Carry Weapon license, the state statutes require proof that:
- The applicant is of good moral character
- The applicant meets residence requirements
- The course of training prescribed by the licensing authority has been completed
- Good cause exists to issue the Concealed Carry Weapon license
Public Disclosure of Information
The applicant will certify under penalty of perjury that all answers provided in the application are true and correct to the best of their knowledge and belief. The applicant will also acknowledge that information disclosed on this application may be subject to public disclosure.
The following are requirements to apply for a permit:
- Any Applicant with an arrest or conviction in the last five years is generally disqualified
- Applicant may not be on any type of probation
- Applicant must be at least 21 years of age and reside in the County of Kern
- Applicant must be a United States Citizen or Permanent Legal Resident
- Applicant must not have any felony convictions
- If applying for a new Concealed Carry Weapon license, an 8-hour firearms training course must be completed prior to issuance.
- If applying for a renewal Concealed Carry Weapon license completion of a 4-hour firearms training course is required prior to issuance.
California Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 provide that a Sheriff of a county or the Chief or other head of a municipal police department of any city, or city and county, may issue a license to carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person (Concealed Carry Weapon license).
Who May Be Issued a License
The licensing authority specified in Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 (a Sheriff or the Chief or other head of a municipal police department) may issue a license to persons who are of good moral character, who have completed a course of training, and have good cause for issuance of a Concealed Carry Weapon license. All applicants for a Concealed Carry Weapon license will be fingerprinted and state and federal records will be checked to determine if they are eligible to possess firearms. View all categories that would prohibit a person from possessing firearms and being granted a Concealed Carry Weapon license.
Prior to Filling out the Application
- Be prepared to scan copies of any additional documentation required per Ridgecrest Police Department CCW policy (i.e. business license, employer verification letter, etc.). Also, you will be required to submit the original copy of your CCW Permit to our office prior to your CCW permit being issued even if a scanned copy is submitted with your application.
- Be prepared to scan copies of two of the following “proof of residency” documents showing your current address in Kern County (Proof of Residency (2 items):
- Current utility bill - If you receive electronic bills, the agency provider will need to certify and stamp them
- Current year property tax statement
- Vehicle registration
- Phone bill - but not cell phone bills). - not required for Renewals, Modifications or Duplicate Applications
- Be prepared to scan a copy of your valid California driver’s license, which has your current address in the City of Ridgecrest.